Galveston Bay Sunrise

3 07 2009

_MG_7385sm

I took this shot while underway inbound on the Houston Ship Channel. A beautiful sunrise that I just had to capture. A little tricky to get though, with the vast difference in the shoreline light and the orange sun behind it.  The  wet sandy shoreline reflects the orange glow and that makes a solid definition between land and sea.  In the 16×20  print, the detail is way better, and the seagulls make the image come alive.

Just looking at the image, what time of year would you suspect? With the warm colors and the sun looking as it does, you might automatically think summer, but actually this was shot on February 7, 2009-and if I remember correctly, it was quite cool that morning.  Just some more of that photographic trickery!

I am fortunate to see a lot of Texas and Louisianna waterways  from the perspective I have.  I try to capture what I can so others can enjoywhat I see on a regular basis.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

